What is Shintou Nanajousaku in Japanese Katana terminology?

"""Shintou Nanajousaku"" (新刀七上作) refers to the seven master swordsmiths of the Shintou era, selected by ""Suishinshi Masahide"" (水心子正秀), who is considered the founder of the ""Shinshintou"" (新々刀) era during the late Edo period.

1. ""Horikawa Kunihiro"" (堀川国広): Known as the founder of the Shintou era and the initiator of the ""Horikawa School"" (堀川派).

2. ""Tsuda Sukehiro"" (津田助広): He represents the swordsmiths of Osaka (currently Osaka Prefecture).

3. ""Hizen Tadayoshi"" (肥前忠吉): He transitioned from a samurai to a swordsmith.

4. ""Inoue Shinkai"" (井上真改): He demonstrated his skills as a swordsmith at a young age.

5. ""Nanki Shigekuni"" (南紀重国): He is a descendant of the ""Tega School"" (手掻派) that flourished in Yamato Province (currently Nara Prefecture) during the Kamakura period.

6. ""Noda Hankei"" (野田繁慶): He was also a gunsmith and served ""Tokugawa Ieyasu"".

7. ""Nagasone Kotetsu"" (長曽祢虎徹): He became a renowned swordsmith after the age of 50.

These seven master swordsmiths, with their unique skills and contributions, played a significant role in the development of Japanese swords during the Shintou era. Their works are highly regarded for their quality and craftsmanship, reflecting the high standards of sword making during this period."

You have successfully subscribed!
This email has been registered